top of page


About Us

Carolyn Hitt
Chris Williams
Catrin Stevens
Alun Morgan.jpg
Alun Morgan
Angharad Williams
Our aim is to encourage young people in schools in Wales to take a greater interest in their heritage and the contribution made to it by their families and communities. The Initiative holds an annual competition for heritage projects in schools in Wales.
Click here to meet the team
Danusia 2.jpg
Lady Trotman-Dickenson

Our History

The Initiative was launched in 1990 under the auspices of the Institute of Welsh Affairs at the National Museum of Wales, Cardiff. It was the brainchild of Lady Trotman Dickenson who became the first Chairperson of the organisation and has been closely involved ever since. She was followed as Chairperson by prominent historian of Wales, Professor Chris Williams, freelance journalist Carolyn Hitt, historian and author Catrin Stevens, and retired HMI (Estyn) Alun Morgan. The new Chairperson is Angharad Williams, former RCAHMW’s Public Engagement Manager and former headteacher.

A message of support from HRH The Prince of Wales

"I believe that it is vitally important to encourage young people in primary and secondary schools to appreciate the heritage of Wales, to help to conserve it and to contribute, themselves, to the creation of the kind of heritage that future generations may appreciate and enjoy.


I was, therefore, delighted to hear about the Welsh Heritage Schools Initiative, which will challenge young people to undertake heritage projects that establish links between schools, families, communities, local organisations and industries.


Heritage is not just a relic of the past. It evolves and involves the continuation of activities of people at their place of education, employment and workshop; in the fields of arts, entertainment and sport and in the pursuit of their hobbies. An awareness of heritage can create an awareness of community and, for young people looking to the future, what could be more appropriate than an understanding of their past."


HRH The Prince of Wales

The competition would not have taken place and continued without the support of sponsors. Throughout the 30 years Hodge Foundation has been a major sponsor and in recent years there has been significant support from Admiral Group plc. (Moondance Foundation).

MF Logo small.png

Valuable support has been received from a range of other sponsors – St. Fagans National History Museum, CADW, the People’s Collection Wales, the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales, the National Library of Wales, Media Wales, the Welsh Rugby Union, University of South Wales, Women’s Archive Wales, Into Film and In Character plus a number of county and local history societies and generous individuals.


In recent years WHSI has been a member of EUSTORY, a network of countries in Europe that organise heritage/history competitions. The winners of the WHSI EUSTORY prize are invited to attend a conference with other EUSTORY contestants, sponsored by the Körber Foundation of Germany.

WHSI Committee 8.7.22 1.jpg
Meet the Team



The Trustees are assisted by a Committee, which includes people from a range of educational institutions in Wales and representatives from museums and businesses. Together with representatives of the sponsors, they act as judges of the competition.


There are three trustees who meet regularly and administer the Initiative on a day-to-day basis:


Executive Chairperson: Angharad Williams and Schools Liaison Secretary: Alison Denton


Treasurer: Dr Stuart Broomfield

Other Officers:


Honorary Life President: Lady Trotman-Dickenson MBE


Honorary Life Vice President: David Maddox OBE

Chair and Trustee: Angharad Williams - Former Public Engagement Manager, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales

Vice-Chair: Dr. Huw Griffiths - Senior Lecturer, Trinity St. Davids

Treasurer / Publications co-ordinator: Dr. Stuart Broomfield - Former Education Adviser


Schools Liaison Secretary: Alison Denton Former head of history and current WJEC Examiner for History and Politics

Committee Members 2022-23

Catrin Stevens Former Head of History Trinity College Carmarthen

Gareth Wyn Jones Retired HMI

Gill Foley Deputy Head (Rtd)

Jeanne Evans Former Deputy Headteacher, St. Cenydd Comprehensive, Caerphilly

Hefin Matthias Former Headteacher, Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni

Scott Harper Retired Headteacher

Ben Price Learning, Participation and Interpretation Officer at Big Pit National Coal Museum

Dr Elin Jones Education Consultant and broadcaster

Ladan Harper Awards Booklet editor | Retired Headteacher

Heather Lewis Retired Headteacher

Mark Williams Programme Leader PGCE Secondary, Cardiff School of Education and Social Policy

Aled Rumble Curriculum for Wales advisory teacher for Ceredigion 

Nia Williams Director of Learning and Engagement, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales

Geraint Bevan Associate Challenge Adviser (ERW), (Rtd)

Ann Dorsett Museum Officer (Rtd)

Eleri Evans Head of Learning and Interpretation Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales.

Jan Dennis Former Primary School Teacher Cwmlai Primary School

Martin Williams Assistant Head, King Henry VIII School, Abergavenny

Carole Bryan-Jones Head of History, St. John’s College

Esta Lewis Heritage and Outreach Services, Operations Supervisor, Rhondda Cynon Taf Heritage Services

David Thomas Head of Public Services, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales

Rhodri Morgan Education Services Manager National Library of Wales

Sandra Elson Social Media Officer, Former Head of History

bottom of page